NSWIS is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2021 NSWIS Awards

Posted on November 15, 2021 by

The NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) has announced a list of world’s best finalists for their annual awards night, set to be held on Thursday 25th November at the Royal Randwick Racecourse. The esteemed annual awards will be celebrating its’ return following cancellation of the event in 2020 due to the pandemic.

The awards, which will be presented at the gala-style celebration, will be in recognition and honour of the achievements of NSWIS athletes, coaches and sport programs across eight separate categories.

Among the awards to be presented are the Academic Excellence, Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement, Musashi Coach, Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program; as well as the hotly contested Southern Design Junior, Office of Sport Female and Powerade Male Athlete of the Year awards.

The Junior, Male and Female Athlete of the Year Awards exist to recognise the outstanding performance of a NSWIS athlete, based on their performances at benchmark and major international events like the Olympic and Paralympic Games. These categories also take into consideration the quality of an athlete or team’s performance against the depth and field of competition.

Coaches’ achievements are also to be recognised with the Coach of the Year title – which is to be awarded to an eligible, formally accredited coach who has worked with NSWIS athletes over the past year, helping them to achieve an outstanding result. The award looks at the impact of the coach on their individual athlete or team’s performance, results at major events and the innovation and initiatives implemented by the Coach within their programs.

The night promises to celebrate more than just competitive results though, with the Academic Excellence award up for grabs. The award is designed to recognise and honour the personal and professional endeavours of an NSWIS athlete, whilst excelling in their chosen sporting field – a key focus of the Institute’s Athlete Wellbeing and Engagement team.

The Program of the Year will recognise leadership, culture, innovation, performance, and progression pathways, plus the daily training environment of its athletes, while the 2021 7News Spirit of Sport Award will celebrate some of the most exceptional moments of the Tokyo 2020 Games that showcase the Olympic and Paralympic values. The 7News Spirit of Sport award is the only award that is open to the public vote.

Following a challenging yet exceptional 12 months, the awards will unite some of Australia’s most decorated sporting individuals in celebration of the efforts of the Institute’s athletes, coaches, staff and partners, including those of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Among the nominees are 2019 winners Cate Campbell, Lauren Parker and Simon Cusack who will be looking for back-to-back honours at the 2021 Awards.

Lauren and Cate are two of the incredible athletes nominated for the Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement Award – the final award category which recognises the significant achievement of an athlete who has had to overcome challenges in order to achieve outstanding results, has surpassed any records or milestones, displayed exceptional personal or professional development, and has contributed greatly to sports and the wider community.

Read on for the full list of finalists in each category below or click here to vote for the 7News Spirit of Sport Award now.

NSWIS congratulates all finalists and looks forward to celebrating the Awards on the 25th November 2021.


Academic Excellence 

Congratulations to the Award of Excellence finalists:

  • Belle Brockhoff, Winter Sports
  • Rohan Browning, Athletics
  • Matthew Levy OAM, Swimming
  • Nicola McDermott, Athletics
  • Rowena Meredith, Rowing

Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement

Congratulations to the Ian Thorpe AM Outstanding Achievement Awards finalists:

  • Belle Brockhoff & Jarryd Hughes, Winter Sports
  • Cate Campbell OAM, Swimming
  • Sarah Carli, Athletics
  • Ellie Cole OAM, Swimming
  • Lauren Parker, Triathlon
  • Melissa Wu, Diving

Southern Design Junior Athlete of the Year

Congratulations to the Junior Athlete of the Year award finalists:

  • Timothy Brand, Hockey
  • Jasmine Greenwood, Swimming
  • Timothy Hodge, Swimming
  • Poppy Olsen, Skateboarding
  • Ben Tudhope, Winter Sports
  • Kieran Woolley, Skateboarding

Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year 

Congratulations to the following programs for their finalist status:

  • Athletics
  • Canoe Slalom
  • Diving
  • Winter Sports

Musashi Coach of the Year 

Congratulations to the Coach of the Year award finalists:

  • Harald Benselin & Jan Klemsa, Winter Sports
  • Simon Cusack, Swimming
  • Myriam Fox, Canoe Slalom
  • Matt Hornsell, Athletics
  • Louise Sauvage OAM, Athletics
  • Chava Sobrino, Diving

7NEWS Spirit of Sport 

Congratulations to the Spirit of Sport Award finalists:

  • Stuart Jones – spirit in motion
  • Poppy Olsen – sportsmanship
  • Owen Wright – team celebration

Powerade Male Athlete of the Year 

Congratulations to the Male Athlete of the Year Award finalists:

  • Timothy Brand, Hockey
  • Jack Hargreaves, Alexander Purnell & Spencer Turrin, Rowing
  • Timothy Hodge, Swimming
  • Erik Horrie OAM, Rowing
  • Matthew Levy OAM, Swimming

Office of Sport Female Athlete of the Year 

Congratulations to the Female Athlete of the Year Award finalists:

  • Cate Campbell OAM, Swimming
  • Madison De Rozario, Athletics
  • Jessica Fox, Canoe Slalom
  • Nicola McDermott, Athletics
  • Amanda Reid, Cycling

No Comments

Leave a Reply