Twelve NSWIS Graduates selected in Olympic hockey teams

Posted on June 14, 2021 by

The Australian Olympic Committee has named the 16-person Hockeyroos and Kookaburras teams to take on the world at the Tokyo Olympics, with 12 NSWIS Graduate athletes amongst those selected.

NSWIS will be represented by seven athletes in the Kookaburras, including five Olympic debutants, with an additional five named in the Hockeyroos team, including Emily Chalker who will compete at her third Games.

Meanwhile, Sydney’s Kaitlin Nobbs will make her debut and follow in the footsteps of her mother (Lee Capes – 1988 gold), father (Michael Nobbs – 1984) and uncle (Mark Hager – 1988, 1996 bronze) who all represented Australia at the Olympics.

Chef de Mission of the Australian Olympic Team Ian Chesterman congratulated the athletes on today’s selection.

“Today is a fantastic recognition of the skill and resilience of these teams and players, and I congratulate them on making the Australian Olympic Team for Tokyo,” Mr Chesterman said.

“The Hockeyroos and Kookaburras hold a special place in Australia’s Olympic tradition and these players will continue to build on that rich legacy.”

Former NSWIS Women’s Hockey Head Coach and newly-appointed Hockeyroos Head Coach, Katrina Powell, was excited at the potential of this Hockeyroos team.

“There is a lot of talent in this group – a lot of potential, drive, enthusiasm and passion, so if we can harness all of that in what will be really tough conditions in Tokyo, you never know what can happen,” Powell said.

“There is some experience that both I and (Assistant Coach) Katie Allen can bring directly to the group. But everyone’s Olympic experience is really different, so these players need to be themselves and be authentic.

“Given the matches we’ve just played against New Zealand and the different combinations on the field in each game, coupled with the team doing well is an indicator of how difficult it was to pick this team. To have those names on the sheet makes Tokyo very real and I’m really excited about the opportunity that’s ahead of us.”

The Kookaburras will launch the Tokyo 2020 competition against hosts Japan on 24 July, with the Hockeyroos’ campaign starting on 25 July against Spain.

TeamNSWIS Graduate athletes selected:


Tim Brand
Tom Craig
Matthew Dawson
Blake Govers
Dylan Martin
Lachlan Sharp
Flynn Ogilvie


Emily Chalker
Kate Jenner
Kaitlin Nobbs
Courtney Schonell
Grace Stewart
Mariah Williams

No Comments

Leave a Reply