Eight Para Swimmers claim Tokyo tickets at Trials

Posted on June 17, 2021 by

Following the completion of the Paralympic multi-class events at the 2021 Australian Swimming Trials,  eight NSWIS swimmers have been selected onto the Australian Paralympics team for Tokyo.

The 32-strong team was announced on Wednesday night, with 15 athletes set to make their debut, while the Institute’s own Ellie Cole and Matthew Levy will compete at their fourth and fifth Games respectively.

Six-time Paralympic champion, Cole, all but secured her spot on the first night of events by swimming under the qualifying time in the women’s 400m freestyle (MC) event.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Ellie Cole (@elliecoleswim)

Ricky Betar, who swims out of Auburn, also achieved a qualifying time on night one in the men’s 200m freestyle (MC), before backing it up with a strong swim in Wednesday night’s 100m backstroke (MC).

Bay and Basin’s Jasmine Greenwood (S10) turned out to be one of the stars of the meet, touching under the qualifying time in the women’s 100m butterfly (MC) on night two before stamping her name on a Tokyo ticket with record-breaking swims in the 200m individual medley (MC). After breaking the Australian record in the event heats, the 16-year-old came out in the final to smash her own record and make a name as one of the most exciting young swimmers in the country.

Fellow 16-year-old, Alexander Tuckfield, touched home as one of five qualifiers in the men’s 400m freestyle, while Timothy Hodge clocked qualifying times in both the men’s 100m butterfly (MC) and 200m individual medley (MC).

Matt Levy secured his fifth Paralympic spot with qualification in the men’s 100m freestyle, while Rio 2016 Paralympic Champion, Tiffany Thomas Kane (SB7), as well as 20-year-old Ashley van Rijswijk qualified in the women’s 200m breaststroke (MC).


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Matt Levy (@mattlevy87)

The Para-swimming Team for Tokyo was introduced by Australian Team Chef de Mission Kate McLoughlin at the completion of the Trials on Wednesday night.

“What we know from previous Games is that swimming often sets the barometer for other sports in which we compete,” McLoughlin said.

“In Rio, our 36 swimmers brought home 29 medals, including nine gold, an inspiring outcome that formed the foundation of Australia’s top-five finish at the Games.

“This particular group has faced a lot of adversity in the past year or so. Yet, through their resilience and desire, and with exemplary support from Swimming Australia, they will head to Japan as ready as they could possibly be to compete at their best.”

The Australian Paralympic Swim Team for the Tokyo Paralympic Games:

Jesse Aungles
Emily Beecroft
Ricky Betar (NSWIS)
Ellie Cole (NSWIS)
Rowan Crothers
Katja Dedekind
Tim Disken
Thomas Gallagher
Jasmine Greenwood (NSWIS)
Brenden Hall
Benjamin Hance
Kirralee Hayes
Tim Hodge (NSWIS)
Ahmed Kelly
Paige Leonhardt
Matt Levy (NSWIS)
William Martin
Ashleigh McConnell
Madeleine McTernan
Jake Michel
Grant Patterson
Lakeisha Patterson
Col Pearse
Ben Popham
Liam Schluter
Keira Stephens
Ruby Storm
Tiffany Thomas Kane (NSWIS)
Alexander Tuckfield (NSWIS)
Ashley Van Rijswijk (NSWIS)
Isabella Vincent
Rachael Watson

The 2021 Australian Swimming Trials have been in action since Saturday and NSWIS athletes have been amongst those to have posted Tokyo qualifying times ahead of the final Australian Olympic and Paralympic team selections.

No Comments

Leave a Reply