Four Scholars Selected as Hockeyroos

Posted on May 26, 2022 by

Four NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) scholars have been selected in the Hockeyroos team to compete at the FIH Hockey Women’s World Cup in Spain & Netherlands 2022 from 1-17 July.

Jocelyn Bartram, Kaitlin Nobbs, Grace Stewart and Mariah Williams are among a team of 18 athletes selected which includes a strong line up of younger talent, highlighting the exciting and bright future of the Hockeyroos for the years to come.

Held every four years, the FIH Hockey World Cup is the highlight of the international hockey events portfolio and will see the best teams in the world compete for the coveted trophy.

The Hockeyroos’ recent Trans-Tasman Trophy triumph in New Zealand was a key selection trial for the Women’s World Cup and Head Coach Katrina Powell said the performances in Auckland made it a difficult process to narrow down.

“It was really important for us to play those matches against NZ to be able to get a gauge on where some of our players are at internationally. Certainly, there were some good performances which made the selection difficult for the panel. In the end we are really pleased with the mix of youth and experience and excited for the challenge that is the World Cup” said Katrina.

Since the day she took on the coaching job, Katrina has emphasised her desire to see the Hockeyroos play an attacking, high pressing, and entertaining style of hockey.

With the World Cup team now selected, Katrina is confident this group has the components to bring that high energy, fast paced and ruthless edge to what is a flagship event on the world hockey calendar.

The Hockeyroos are in Pool D alongside Belgium, Japan, and South Africa for the 15th edition of the prestigious event that comprises 16 teams. All the Hockeyroos’ Pool matches will be played in Terrassa, Spain.

Having won the World Cup twice (1994, 1998), the Hockeyroos finished fourth at the last tournament in 2018. The Netherlands are the defending champions.

The Hockeyroos squad will depart for Europe on 16 June.

Article and image courtesy of Hockey Australia

No Comments

Leave a Reply