Hockeyroos Squad Announced for Birmingham

Posted on June 14, 2022 by

Five NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) scholarship holders are part of a new-look Hockeyroos squad bound for the 2022 Commonwealth Games looking to write their own chapter in Australia’s golden legacy at the Games.

Jocelyn Bartram, Greta Hayes, Kaitlin Nobbs, Courtney Schonell and Mariah Williams have been selected onto a dynamic Hockeyroos team blessed with experienced international stars and rising talent will seek to reclaim a Commonwealth Games gold medal next month in Birmingham.

Sydney’s Greta, Courtney and Mariah from Parkes in NSW will make their Commonwealth Games debut.

Long considered one of Australia’s most exciting teams, the Hockeyroos have claimed the gold medal in four of the six Commonwealth Games, since the sport debuted at the Kuala Lumpur 1998 Commonwealth Games.

Denied a hat trick in the final on the Gold Coast four years ago, the Hockeyroos are determined to go one better at Birmingham 2022.

Selectors believe a youthful squad featuring 12 Commonwealth Games debutantes is capable of challenging for the gold medal with the promise they have shown.

Australian Team Chef de Mission Petria Thomas OAM is excited for the Hockeyroos squad who will be lead at the Games by former Commonwealth Games gold medallist Katrina Powell, who serves as head coach at the Games for the first time.

“Congratulations to the 18 Hockeyroos who have been selected for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games,” Petria said.

“Hockey Australia and the Hockeyroos coaches have selected an exciting group of players to represent the green and gold against the Commonwealth’s best.

“The Hockeyroos have enjoyed a wonderful legacy at the Commonwealth Games, led in the past by champions like current coach Trinny Powell, and I know this group will add their own chapter to that incredible history… I wish them all the best in Birmingham.”

Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games schedule – Hockeyroos Pool Matches
v Kenya Saturday 30 July (2:00pm – 5:30pm local), 11:00pm – 2:30am AEST 
v South Africa Sunday 31 July (7:00pm – 10:30pm local), Monday 1 August 4:00am – 7:30am AEST  
v New Zealand Tuesday 2 August (9:00am – 12:30pm local), 6:00pm – 9:30pm AEST  
v Scotland Wednesday 3 August (9:00am – 12:30pm local), 6:00pm – 9:30pm AEST  
Semi-Finals Friday 5 August (6:00pm – 10:30pm local), Saturday 6 August 3:00am – 7:30am AEST 
Bronze Medal Match Sunday 7 August (9:00am – 2:00pm local), 6:00pm – 11:00pm AEST 

Gold Medal Match Sunday 7 August (3:00pm – 8:00pm local), Monday 8 August 12:00am – 5:00am AEST



No Comments

Leave a Reply