Josie Talbot Crowned the 2022 Oceania Road Champion

Posted on April 13, 2022 by

NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) cyclist Josie Talbot has claimed the elite road race title at the 2022 Oceania Road Championships in Brisbane.

Racing in the elite women’s, Josie led a five-rider tight group towards the finish line and her turn of speed delivered her to a maiden elite title. The title follows after having had previously claimed the junior title in 2013. In an all Australian podium, silver went to Danielle De Francesco and bronze to Amber Pate.

In the men’s division, New Zealand champion James Fouche produced the winning performance to take the Oceania title with countryman Thomas Sexton adding his name to the silver and with Australian Zack Gilmore taking the bronze.

In the women’s junior / under 19’s category, NSWIS Time Trial (TT) Project athlete, Bronte Stewart continued her strong, consistent form off the back of her performances at the national championships to claim bronze in the Oceania time trial and silver in the road race. The Wagga based junior contested a four-way sprint, narrowly missing the gold and holding off the third and fourth positions.

TT Project riders in the men’s under 23 category, Dylan George and Mathew Dinham were very much in the mix at the Oceania Championships, earning silver and bronze respectively. Sydney based Dylan, who has only just stepped up to the under 23 division in 2022, also added a silver in the time trial while Mathew unfortunately encountered a range of issues with his equipment. Despite the issues, he pushed for a credentialed fifth-place finish and put aside the issues to join the select finishing group and place behind his teammate in the aforementioned road race.

Para titles went to fellow NSWIS athletes Amanda Reid (C2) and Lauren Parker (H3).

2022 Oceania Road Race Medallists
Elite Women

GOLD: Josie Talbot (Australia)
SILVER: Danielle De Francesco (Australia)
BRONZE: Amber Pate (Australia)

Elite Men
GOLD: James Fouche (New Zealand)
SILVER: Thomas Sexton (New Zealand)
BRONZE: Zack Gilmore (Australia)

Under 23 Women
GOLD: Ella Wyllie (New Zealand)
SILVER: Anya Louw (Australia)
BRONZE: Annamarie Lipp (New Zealand)

Under 23 Men
GOLD: Brady Gilmore (Australia)
SILVER: Dylan George (Australia)
BRONZE: Matthew Dinham (Australia)

Under 19 Women
GOLD: Belinda Bailey (Australia)
SILVER: Bronte Stewart (Australia)
BRONZE: Mackenzie Coupland (Australia)

Under 19 Men
GOLD: Oscar Chamberlain (Australia)
SILVER: Cameron Rogers (Australia)
BRONZE: Toby Evans (New Zealand)

Men C2: Darren Hicks (Australia)
Men C3: Kyle Willis (Australia)
Men H3: Alex Welsh (Australia)
Men H4: Grant Allen (Australia)
Men H5: Stuart Tripp (Australia)
Men T2: Andrew Bannister (Australia)
Men Tandem: Kevin O’Meley (Australia)
Women C1: Kaitlyn Schurmann (Australia)
Women C2: Amanda Reid (Australia)
Women C3: Paige Greco (Australia)
Women C4: Meg Lemon (Australia)
Women C5: Nicole Murray (New Zealand)
Women H3: Lauren Parker (Australia)
Women T2: Carol Cooke (Australia)
Women Tandem: Candice Kennedy (Australia)


For full results, visit AusCycling


By Caitlin Glanville, NSW Institute of Sport

No Comments

Leave a Reply