Kookaburras unbeaten in Auckland

Posted on December 8, 2011 by

The Australian Kookaburras, featuring three NSWIS hockey players, have made the perfect start to the 2011 Champions Trophy with wins over Spain and Great Britain.

The opening day of competition saw the team produce a dogged victory 3-2 victory over Spain. Australia took the lead early but went into the half-time break at 1-2 down, before Jamie Dwyer’s second goal got the team back on track. Des Abbott put the icing on the cake at the 65 minute mark with the Kookaburras being able to hold on.

The Kookaburras’ second match against Great Britain ended in a comforable 4-1 victory to the Australians, with NSWIS athlete Matthew Butturini scoring in the first half to help Australia to a 2-0 lead. The team then went on with the job and closed the match out, and they will now face Pakistan tomorrow.

The NSWIS athletes in the team are Butturini, Kieran Govers and Mark Paterson.

No Comments

Leave a Reply