National wheelchair basketball squads announced

Posted on January 27, 2021 by

Four female and five male athletes from the NSW Institute of Sport have been named on the 2021 Australian senior wheelchair basketball squads.

They will be vying for selection in the final teams to represent Australia at the 2021 Tokyo Paralympics, set to take place from August 24 – September 5.

Jessica Cronje, Maryanne Laru, Georgia Munro-Cook and Victoria Simpson have all been named in the Aussie Gliders squad, whilst Michael Auprince, Phil McPhail, Luke Pople, Shawn Russell and Brett Stibners have been named in the Aussie Rollers.

The squads will continue their preparation for Tokyo when they assemble for a camp at Basketball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from January 28 – February 4.

Head coach of both the Gliders and Rollers Craig Friday is looking forward to the upcoming camp.

“With a little over six months until the Paralympic Games, this camp is extremely important to our Tokyo preparations.”


The 2021 Gliders Squad:

Squad Member Name Current Home City/Institute Scholarship
Natalie Alexander Perth / WAIS
Georgia Bishop-Cash* Brisbane / QAS
Jessica Cronje Sydney / NSWIS
Shelley Cronau* Gold Coast & Spain / QAS
Natalie Curtis Townsville / QAS
Hannah Dodd Sunshine Coast / QAS
Mary Friday Perth / WAIS
Georgia Inglis Perth / WAIS
Jacqueline Lane Perth / WAIS
Maryanne Latu Sydney / NSWIS
Isabel Martin Melbourne / VIS
Bree Mellberg Melbourne / VIS
Amber Merritt Perth / WAIS
Georgia Munro-Cook Sydney / NSWIS
Sonya Newman Darwin, Northern Territory
Jade O’Sullivan Perth / WAIS
Taishar Ovens Perth / WAIS
Ella Sabljak Gold Coast / QAS
Victoria Simpson Parkes, New South Wales / NSWIS
Sarah Vinci Perth / WAIS


The 2021 Rollers Squad:

Squad Member Name Current Home City/Institute Scholarship
Michael Auprince Wetzlar, Germany / NSWIS
Jordan Bartley Brisbane / QAS
Jannik Blair Bilbao, Spain & Horsham / WAIS
Jontee Brown Bendigo / VIS
Lachlin Dalton Brisbane / QAS
Steven Elliott Gympie / QAS
Phil Evans Perth / WAIS
Jake Kavanagh Perth / WAIS
Tristan Knowles Melbourne / VIS
Bill Latham Madrid, Spain / QAS
C.J McCarthy-Grogan Darwin / NTIS
Thomas McHugh Perth / WAIS
John McPhail Dallas, USA & Sydney / NSWIS
Matthew McShane Gold Coast / QAS
Shaun Norris (captain) Perth / WAIS
Luke Pople Wollongong / NSWIS
Tom O’Neill-Thorne Darwin / NTIS
Frank Pinder Perth / WAIS
Kim Robins Munich, Germany & Perth / WAIS
Shawn Russell Wollongong / NSWIS
Brett Stibners Wollongong / NSWIS
Jeremy Tyndall Waaia, Victoria / VIS
Samuel White Adelaide / SASI

No Comments

Leave a Reply