NSWIS Athletes of the Year honoured with Medal of the Order of Australia

Posted on January 27, 2022 by

The Australian Olympic Committee (AOC) and Paralympics Australia (PA) have congratulated 37 Australian Olympians and Paralympians from the Tokyo 2020 Games who have been honoured in the Australia Day honours.

While swimmer Emma McKeon and basketball’s Patty Mills received the highest accolades, each awarded an AM (Member of the Order of Australia), 22 other Olympic gold medallists and 13 Paralympic gold medallists were all awarded an OAM – The Medal of the Order of Australia.

Among the 37 recipients were NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS)-supported athletes, Jessica Fox, Madi De Rozario, Jack Hargreaves, Alex Purnell, Spencer Turrin and Amanda Reid. All of which were honoured at the 2021 NSWIS Awards, Amanda as a finalist for Female athlete of the Year and Jessica, Madi, Jack, Alex and Spencer all sharing the honours as reigning NSWIS co-Female and co-Male Athletes of the Year respectively.

AOC President John Coates congratulated all the athletes on their achievements.

“So much has been said about these athletes and their wonderful Teammates. We are so very proud of every one of them – and we can be that little bit prouder today with this group honoured by their country in this way.

“We all know what every athlete had to contend with to just get to the start line in Tokyo, let alone reach the pinnacle as gold medallist in their sports.

“We thank their families and sports who helped them achieve this honour.

“As we prepare to embrace our Winter Team competing in the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics next week, it’s a timely reminder that Olympians reflect what is good about being Australian and how they inspire others to achieve in any field of endeavour.”

Paralympics Australia Chief Executive Catherine Clark said the awards were richly deserved.

“On behalf of Paralympics Australia, I would like to congratulate each of the Paralympians who have been recognised for their exceptional achievements at Tokyo 2020,” Clark said.

“It’s fantastic for their triumphs to be recognised as part of the Australia Day Honours list.

“These Paralympians have each demonstrated incredible determination and represent the power of diversity and inclusion. Australians have been inspired by their exceptional performances on the world stage, but these awards also recognise the years of dedication and sacrifice behind each success.

“They are tremendous ambassadors for Para-sport and our nation and I’m incredibly proud of their extraordinary achievements.”


Full list of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) recipients:

  • Jess Fox (paddle)
  • Tom Green (paddle)
  • Jack Hargreaves (rowing)
  • Meg Harris (swimming)
  • Alex Hill (rowing)
  • Chelsea Hodges (swimming)
  • Logan Martin (cycling -BMX)
  • Annabelle McIntyre (rowing)
  • Kaylee McKeon (swimming)
  • Jess Morrison (rowing)
  • Mollie O’Callaghan (swimming)
  • Keegan Palmer (skateboard)
  • Rosemary Popa (rowing)
  • Alex Purnell (rowing)
  • Will Ryan (sailing)
  • Lucy Stephan (rowing)
  • Izaac Stubblety-Cook (swimming)
  • Brianna Throssell (swimming)
  • Ariarne Titmus (swimming)
  • Spencer Turrin (rowing)
  • Jean van der Westhuyzen (paddle)
  • Matt Wearn (sailing)
  • Rohan Crothers (para-swimming)
  • Madison De Rozario (para-athletics)
  • Paige Greco (para-cycling)
  • Benjamin Hance (para-swimming)
  • Darren Hicks (para-cycling)
  • Lina Lei (para-table tennis)
  • Vanessa Low (para-athletics)
  • William Martin (para-swimming)
  • Emily Petricola (para-cycling)
  • Ben Popham (para-swimming)
  • Amanda Reid (para-cycling)
  • Qian Yang (para-table tennis)

No Comments

Leave a Reply