NSWIS riders in clean sweep

Posted on December 15, 2011 by

In front of a sellout crowd Stuart Tinney (NSWIS) executed a foot perfect show jump round today to win the Deloitte Australian 3 Day Event HSBC CCI 4*.

Placed fourth going into the final day of competition, Olympic gold medalist Tinney placed pressure on the top order when he jumped a text book clear round. Fellow Olympian Sonja Johnson retained second place with a four fault round.

One rail down for 29-year-old lawyer Emma Mason (NSWIS) from New South Wales and F1 Pharinelli was good enough to keep them in their overnight position of third place. F1 Pharinelli was awarded the Peppermint Grove perpetual trophy for the best Australian based horse of 2011 as decided by the national selectors.

Overnight leader Shane Rose (NSWIS) had a round he would prefer to forget. Taurus lowered four rails dropping them from the top spot to fifth place, while fellow NSWIS athletes Natalie Blundell and Emma Scott placed fourth and seventh.

Despite a disappointing showjumping round in the CCI 4*, it wasn’t all bad for Shane Rose, the Olympian having a clear round in the Bates Saddles CCI 2* with Virgil to win the class on 50.40 penalty points. Sonja Johnson had to settle for the bridesmaid tag once more, finishing in second place with Annabel Armstrong (NSWIS-ETS) rounding out the minor placings on 59.60.

In the Logan Floats CIC**, Christine Bates (NSWIS) left her competitors for dust taking out the top spot with 46.70 on Delago. The next placegetter on 63.20 was Jade Findlay (NSWIS-ETS) and As Tully, with Cassie Lowe (Vic) and Contango Columbus finishing in third place on 64.50.

Technical Delegate Alec Lochore (GBR) commended the event for an impressive venue and high standard of competition. “I think this event is fantastic. What you have here with the stands and the arenas is a world-class facility. The course was a true four-star track, the winners are true four-star riders and horses and would be competitive at any four star competition in North America or Europe. You are absolutely right up there. It is a top class competition and worthy of the status.”

Craig Barrett  (NSWIS) won the Anna Savage Memorial Award for best and fairest rider of 2011.

No Comments

Comments are closed here.