NSWIS riders reap rewards at Track Nationals

Posted on December 21, 2020 by

The 2020 AusCycling Track National Championships wrapped up over the weekend at the Anna Meares Velodrome in Brisbane, with NSWIS athletes combining to take home 12 gold medals.

After the postponement of the event earlier in the year, the Institute’s riders were able to put their extended preparations to the test, resulting in a total of 27 podium performances.

Records fell in the para disciplines with Amanda Reid breaking her own world record in the C2 women’s time trial in a time of 38.734 seconds, while Gordon Allan broke the Australian record in the men’s C2 time trial with a time of 1:12.080. In the individual pursuit, Reid picked up her second gold of the meet in the C2 women’s category while Allan took silver in the men’s event.

NSWIS riders filled the spots on each of the victorious NSW team pursuit outfits. Josie Talbot, Emily Watts and Georgia Whitehouse rode to gold in the elite women’s category while Daniel Gandy, Kurt Eather, Rohan Haydon-Smith and Ben Harvey put it all together to take the win in the men’s.

Team pursuit results were also translated into individual events, with Georgia Whitehouse continuing her successful transition onto the track by taking gold in the women’s individual pursuit. Daniel Gandy rode strongly in the bronze final to round out the podium in the men’s event.

More NSWIS podiums came in the sprint events as Selina Ho took bronze in the women’s individual sprint before joining forces with younger teammates Kalinda Robinson and Tyler Puzicha, who rode up a division, to take silver in the team sprint.

Meanwhile Thomas Cornish continued his dominance in the elite men’s time trial by taking gold in an impressive time of 1:00.494.

The Under 19 events also had a strong showing from NSWIS athletes, with Daniel Barber taking home an incredible three gold and one silver medal, Haylee Fuller winning a gold and silver, both Devraj Grewal and Kalinda Robinson earning silvers, and Tyler Puzicha snatching a bronze.

For full results list please see AusCycling website.


NSWIS medallists:


GOLD –Amanda Reid – C2 Women’s Time Trial (World Record 38.734),

GOLD –Amanda Reid – C2 Women’s Individual Pursuit

GOLD – Gordon Allan – C2 Men’s Time Trial (Australian Record 1:12.080)

Silver – Gordon Allan – C2 Men’s  Individual Pursuit


GOLD – Men’s Team Pursuit –  Daniel Gandy, Ben Harvey, Kurt Eather, Rohan Haydon-Smith

GOLD –Women’s Team Pursuit –  Josie Talbot, Emily Watts, Georgia Whitehouse

GOLD – Georgia Whitehouse – Elite Women Individual Pursuit

GOLD – Emily Watts – Women Points Race

GOLD – Thomas Cornish – Elite Men’s Individual Time Trial

Silver – Women’s Team Sprint –  Selina Ho, Kalinda Robinson, Tyler Puzicha

Silver – Kurt Eather – Men’s Points Race

Bronze – Selina Ho – Elite Women Sprint

Bronze – Daniel Gandy – Elite Men Individual Pursuit

Bronze – Georgia Whitehouse – Women’s Points Race

Bronze – Kurt Eather – Men’s Omnium

Under 19

GOLD – Haylee Fuller – U19 Points Race

Silver – Haylee Fuller – U19 Omnium

GOLD – Daniel Barber – U19 Men’s Sprint

GOLD – Daniel Barber – U19 Men’s Time Trial

GOLD – Daniel Barber – U19 Men’s Keirin

Silver – Daniel Barber – U19 Men’s Team Sprint

Silver – Kalinda Robinson – U19 Women’s Sprint

Silver – Devraj Grewal – U19 Men’s Individual Pursuit

Silver – Sarah Cliff – U19 Women’s Points Race

Bronze – U19 Women’s Team Pursuit – Sarah Cliff, Haylee Fuller

Bronze – U19 Men’s Team Pursuit –  Ryan Britten, Devraj Grewal, Dylan Eather

Bronze – Tyler Puzicha – U19 Women’s Keirin

No Comments

Leave a Reply