Olympic Medallists Lead Winter Induction Celebrations 

Posted on July 22, 2022 by

Olympic gold medallist Jakara Anthony and bronze medallists Tess Coady and Ben Tudhope will join fellow NSWIS winter sports scholarship holders tonight as the Institute celebrates its’ annual winter induction ceremony.

More than 30 of the nation’s best ski and snowboard athletes will gather in Jindabyne for the prestigious event, which welcomes returning scholarship holders as well as new scholarship athletes to high performance.

 “After the success of our NSWIS athletes and coaches at Beijing 2022 we are now at the start of a new Olympic cycle towards Milan 2026,” NSWIS Manager of Winter Sports Peter Topalovic said.

“We have a new influx of amazing talent coming into the program and it’s an exciting time for winter sports in Australia.”

Among the NSWIS scholarship holders are twelve new athletes including teenage mogul skier Jackson Harvey, who competes with an incredibly high degree of difficulty and is knocking on the door of world cup competition.

Born in the USA to an Australian mother and American father, Jackson is an exciting skier to watch having made the podium at a recent Nor-Am Cup.

“It’s such a privilege to join the NSWIS program and I’m thrilled to be back in Australia training with the moguls squad!” Jackson said.

“I’m looking forward to notching some podium performances for the green and gold -hopefully in the not too distant future.”

Present to recognise and welcome the athletes were NSWIS CEO Professor Kevin Thompson, Member for Monaro Nichole Overall, Snow Australia CEO Michael Kennedy and strategic partners from Perisher, Thredbo, and Jindabyne Sport & Recreation Centre.

“The winter induction ceremony is a unique and rare opportunity where all our athletes are together under the one roof,” NSWIS CEO Professor Kevin Thompson said.

“It’s a time to celebrate the success of our programs, the athletes and staff. It’s a time to foster rich cultural traditions and a time to recognise our stakeholders and strategic partners.”

“It’s fantastic to see so many new Snow Australia athletes across moguls, snowboard cross, park & pipe and para alpine and snowboard joining the established cohort, as NSWIS scholarship recipients for the upcoming season,” Snow Australia CEO Michael Kennedy said.

“There has been a great deal of work by our team over the past few years to prepare athletes for this moment via the Emerging Talent Program (ETP) and we wish them well as they begin their journey as NSWIS athletes.

“With the likes of Olympic and Paralympic medallists Jakara Anthony, Matt Graham, Tess Coady and Ben Tudhope excelling in the program, it shows the snow sports pathway is producing results, and allowing us to develop present and future talents across all disciplines.

No Comments

Leave a Reply