Eight swimmers named in 2019 World Championship Para Team

Posted on April 16, 2019 by

The 2019 World Championship Para Team has been announced and eight athletes from the NSW Institute of Sport have been named.

Ricky Betar will make his debut on the squad, which was named at the conclusion of the 2019 Hancock Prospecting Australian Swimming Championships.

Recently announced as a recipient of the inaugural Kurt Fearnley Scholarship, Betar took home four medals at the national champs and broke an INAS world record for the 50m freestyle in the process. The 15-year-old claimed silver in the 200m Freestyle Multi-Class and 100m Breaststroke Multi-Class, and bronze in the 200m Individual Medley and 50m Freestyle Multi-Class. However, it was his time of 1:02.03 in the 100m backstroke which earned him a cap on the team.

NSWIS athletes who have secured their spot on the 2019 World Championship Para Team are as follows:

  • Timothy Hodge, Auburn, NSW
  • Ricky Betar, Auburn, NSW (debutant)
  • Jenna Jones, Auburn, NSW
  • Ellie Cole, Knox Pymble, NSW
  • Matt Levy, North Sydney, NSW
  • Taylor Corry, Nelson Bay, NSW
  • Tiffany Thomas Kane, Monte, NSW
  • Jasmine Greenwood, Bay & Basin, NSW

NSWIS network coaches Clinton Camilleri (Auburn) and John Bell (Monte) were also named on the team.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.