Fox & Reid honoured at NSW Champions of Sport awards

Posted on November 28, 2017 by in Newsletter Article 2 & NSWIS News

Two-time Olympian Jessica Fox has been named Athlete of the Year at the Inaugural NSW Champions of Sport awards ceremony tonight, whilst cyclist Amanda Reid received the Athlete of the Year with a Disability award.

NSW Minister for Sport Stuart Ayres said NSWIS Canoe Slalom athlete Jess Fox joined the ranks of legendary sporting heroes, on an evening that honoured the commitment of athletes across the state.

“Six of the seven NSW Athlete of the Year nominees were women and Jessica was amongst an outstanding array of finalists,” Mr Ayres said.

“Jessica is an exceptional young role model for all athletes and I look forward to continuing to see her represent NSW and Australia in paddling.

“The success of our female athletes follows the recent announcement by the NSW Government to develop a Women in Sport Strategy that will support increased participation amongst women and help advance the sporting landscape for female athletes.”

Sport NSW Chairperson, Joseph La Posta said the NSW Sports Awards have been held for the last 24 years and now the ceremony has been amalgamated with NSW Hall of Champions.

“The high calibre of the award finalists across all categories made it a difficult decision for the judges,” Mr La Posta said.

“Two categories witnessed joint winners, with Young Athlete of the Year awarded to powerlifter Bethany Parker and rising tennis star Alexei Popyrin, and Organisation of the Year awarded to Netball NSW and AFL NSW/ACT.

Other highlights for the evening saw diver Matthew Mitcham inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions and Olympian Ian Thorpe elevated to Legend Status in the NSW Hall of Champions.


NSW Champion of Sport Award Winners

Category Winner Sport
Athlete of the Year


Jessica Fox Paddling
Athlete of the Year with a Disability Amanda Reid Cycling
Young Athlete of the Year Bethany Parker &

Alexei Popyrin



Young Athlete of the Year with a Disability Gregory Luff Wheelchair Track & Road
Masters Athlete of the Year


Tony Goodwin Swimming
Team of the Year


Sydney FC Football
Team of the Year with a Disability Under 19 Australian Women’s Goalball team Goalball
Administrator of the Year


David Thompson Hockey NSW
Coach of the Year


Glenn Hall Surfing
Event of the Year 2017 Australian Badminton Open Badminton
Local Council of the Year


Lake Macquarie Council
Official of the Year Petr Lubomir


Organisation of the Year Netball NSW &





No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.