Kookaburras win World League

Posted on December 7, 2015 by

The Australian men’s hockey team has won the FIH World League for the first time after defeating Belgium 2-1 in the final in India.

The Kookaburras’ tournament was off to a mixed start after an early loss to Great Britain before the team rebounded to defeat Canada, Germany and the Netherlands en route to the gold medal match.

The gold medal match saw the Kookaburras establish a 2-0 lead after 37 minutes that the Belgians were unable to match, with NSWIS athlete Matthew Dawson scoring the team’s second goal. Belgium’s only goal coming in the 60th minute.

The NSWIS athletes in the team were Dawson, Kieran Govers and Simon Orchard.

Elsewhere, the women’s World League final began in Argentina with the Hockeyroos winning their opening match 1-0 over China.

NSWIS athlete Georgina Morgan scored the Australians’ only goal in the 43rd minute, with fellow NSWIS athletes Mariah Williams and Emily Smith also taking to the pitch.

The Hockeyroos then went on to defeat the hosts 2-1 in their second game of the tournament, with Morgan scoring a penalty corner as the siren went to secure victory.

No Comments

Comments are closed here.