Levy, McCulloch, Stridsman to represent Comm Games athletes

Posted on August 7, 2019 by

Commonwealth Games Australia have appointed NSWIS para swimmer Matt Levy OAM and lawn bowler Karen Murphy as co-chairs of the Athlete Advisory Group (AAG).

Matt Levy won gold on the Gold Coast in the S7 50m freestyle along with golds at the IPC World Championships and Paralympic Games. Karen Murphy has a gold and three silver medals from five appearances at Commonwealth Games.

Both are passionate about the role the Athlete Advisory Group can play in supporting the work of Commonwealth Games Australia.

Fellow NSW Institute of Sport athletes Kaarle McCulloch & Anja Stridsman join Levy on the CGA’s Athlete Advisory Group.

An interim Athlete Advisory Group was established by CGA in September 2017 to provide athlete input into the planning and strategies of the Gold Coast 2018 team. Its tenure ceased following the Games, with a recommendation to the CGA Board that the AAG be formalised. Nominations were called in September 2018 for membership of the group to serve through to the Birmingham Games.

Commonwealth Games Australia – Athlete Advisory Group

Dane Bird Smith – Athletics Karen Murphy – Lawn Bowls
Anja Stridsman – Boxing Shannon Parry – Rugby 7’s
Kaarle McCulloch – Cycling Matt Levy – Para-Swimming
Rachel Bugg – Diving David Palmer – Squash
Lauren Mitchell – Gymnastics Dan Wilson – Triathlon
Brooke Peris – Hockey


Three-time Australian team Chef de Mission and CGA board member Steve Moneghetti will act as the conduit between the AAG and CGA Board.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.