NSWIS athletes dominate Australian Water Polo Youth World Championships squads

Posted on July 18, 2018 by in NSWIS News

Thirteen NSWIS athletes have been selected to represent Australia across both men’s and women’s squads for the 2018 FINA Youth World Championships in August.

Eight NSWIS athletes will constitute more than half of the Australian Born 2000 Men’s team, while five women have been called up for the Born 2000 Women.

Both teams plan to undertake European tours before beginning their respective campaigns at the Youth World Championships.

The 13 athletes making up the men’s team will travel to Greece for a week-long training camp, before heading to Serbia to compete in a local tournament.

The men’s Championships begin 11 August in Szombathely, Hungary, where the Australian team has been drawn in Group A alongside Egypt, South Africa, Brazil and Montenegro.

Meanwhile, the women’s team will begin their preparations with a three-day tournament in Hungary in early August, followed by training with the Greek youth squad before the Pythia Cup in Athens.

For their first Championships beginning 27 August in Belgrade, Serbia, the Australian Born 2000 Women have been drawn alongside Uzbekistan, Greece and Brazil.


Australian Born 2000 Men’s team (NSWIS athletes in bold):

JJ Collins – Wests, NSW – NSWIS

Scott Dyson – Balmain, NSW – NSWIS

Max Fodor – River City, QLD

James Gilfeather – Wests, NSW – NSWIS

Kal Glanznig – Cronulla, NSW – NSWIS

Matt Humby – Hunter, NSW – NSWIS

Christian Kyriakou, Sydney University, NSW – NSWIS

Harry Molnar – Melbourne Collegians, VIC

Matthew Oberman – Triton, WA

Mitch Robinson – Hunter, NSW – NSWIS

Nick Taylor – ACT, ACT

Reilly Townsend – Warriors, QLD

Ethan Zirh – Wests, NSW – NSWIS


Australian Born 2000 Women’s team (NSWIS athletes in bold):

Abby Andrews – Brisbane Barracudas, QLD

Charlize Andrews – Polo Bears, QLD

Hayley Ballesty – Sydney Northern Beaches Breakers, NSW – NSWIS

Kasey Dalziel – Polo Bears, QLD

Lily Hawthorn – Sydney University, NSW

Matilda Kearns – Sydney University, NSW – NSWIS

Sophie Milliken – Queensland Breakers, QLD

Maisie Newell – Sunshine Coast, QLD

Jamie Oberman – Triton, WA

Ruby Swadling – UNSW Wests, NSW – NSWIS

Nioka Thomas – UTS Balmain, NSW – NSWIS

Carla Traplin – Sydney University, NSW – NSWIS

Alyssa West – FYFE Adelaide Jets, SA

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.