Strong NSW teams for Round 1 of Australian Hockey League

Posted on October 4, 2018 by in NSWIS News

The Australian Hockey League 2018 season begins this weekend at Sydney Olympic Park, with the Hockey New South Wales squads taking on Queensland in a massive first round.

The state of origin affair launches the competition which sees States and Territories split into two pools of four. Each team will play three weekends of home-and-away matches against the other teams in their pool.

NSWIS Hockey Program Head Coaches Brent Livermore and Katrina Powell have been handed the reigns of the NSW Waratahs (men’s) and NSW Arrows (women’s) teams for the competition, which will run for the month of October. NSWIS Hockey Women’s Program Assistant Coach Ben Senior will join Powell in the same capacity with the NSW Arrows. NSWIS Performance Analyst Sam Marshall will work with both teams throughout the competition.

NSW vs QLD – October 6 2:00pm local time, Sydney Olympic Park Hockey Centre – Secure your tickets

The NSW Institute of Sport are well represented in the New South Wales squads for the AHL, from which smaller squads will be selected each round. 11 women and 18 men from the NSWIS Hockey Programs are to take part in the exciting competition which is set to feature the introduction of several rule changes.

The Round One squad selections include 10 women and 12 men from NSWIS. Full squads are below (NSWIS athletes bolded).

Results will be available via


View this post on Instagram


#AHL2018 starts in less than 3️⃣ days across every capital city! 🇦🇺🏑🥅 … Who’s your tip for the men’s & women’s titles? 🏆

A post shared by Hockey Australia (@hockeyaustraliaofficial) on

NSW Arrows – Round One Squad

  • Jocelyn BARTRAM (Sydney East)
  • Tamsin BUNT (Bathurst)
  • Anna FLANAGAN (Northern Sydney & Beaches)
  • Kate HANNA (Sydney East)
  • Greta HAYES (North West Sydney)
  • Kate JENNER (Tamworth Hockey Association)
  • Sarah JOHNSTON (Northern Sydney & Beaches)
  • Georgina MORGAN (Tamworth Hockey Association)
  • Kaitlin NOBBS (Sydney East)
  • Mikaela PATTERSON (North West Sydney)
  • Emily SMITH (Crookwell)
  • Grace STEWART (Illawarra South Coast)
  • Jessica WATTERSON (Bathurst)
  • Abby Wilson (Lithgow)


NSW Waratahs – Round One Squad

  • Tim BRAND
  • Matthew BUTTURINI
  • Tom CRAIG
  • Matthew DAWSON
  • Blake GOVERS
  • Kieran GOVERS
  • Jack HAYES
  • Kurt LOVETT
  • Flynn OGILVIE
  • Simon ORCHARD
  • Ryan PROCTOR
  • Lachlan SHARP
  • Ashleigh THOMAS
  • Tristian WHITE

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.