Ten juniors, including NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) athletes Nicole Duncan and Liliya Tatarinoff have been selected to represent the ARA Australian Cycling Team at the 2024 UCI Junior Track World Championships in Luoyang, China.

The squad, announced by the AusCycling National Selection Panel, will race for junior track world titles and rainbow jerseys from August 21-25.

The team contains four returning athletes from the 2023 squad that competed in Cali, Colombia, including two defending junior world champions – Tayte Ryan and Duncan.

Ryan will race in China as the defending junior world champion in the 1000m time trial and will also hope to go one better in the sprint after winning a silver medal in 2023.

Duncan also brought home a rainbow jersey and silver medal from Cali last year following a sensational scratch race win and a second placing in the Madison with Keira Will.

The returning second-year members are rounded out by Wil Holmes, who made his elite ARA Australian Cycling Team debut earlier this year at the Adelaide UCI Track Nations Cup, and Liliya Tatarinoff, who won four junior national championships at the recent 2024 AusCycling Track National Championships in Brisbane.

Oscar Gallagher, Alex Hewes, Toby Jones and Sam Washington are set to join Holmes in the men’s endurance team.

Hewes was a standout performer from the 2024 Track Nationals, winning the scratch race, points race and Madison junior national titles in his first year in the junior category.

Leani van der Berg and Lilyth Jones will combine with Duncan in the women’s endurance team.

ARA Australian Cycling Team for the 2024 UCI Junior Track World Championships



  • Tayte Ryan (Port Adelaide CC – SA)


  • Liliya Tatarinoff (Central Coast CC – NSW)



  • Oscar Gallagher (Blackburn CC – VIC)
  • Alex Hewes (Gold Coast CC – QLD)
  • Wil Holmes (Norwood CC – SA)
  • Toby Jones (Balmoral CC – QLD)
  • Sam Washington (X-Speed Australia CC – WA)


  • Nicole Duncan (Central Coast CC – NSW)
  • Lilyth Jones (Bendigo & District CC – VIC)
  • Leani van der Berg (South Coast CC – SA)

Article courtesy of AUSCycling

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.