Flame alight for Daegu

Posted on December 15, 2011 by

Twelve NSWIS athletes have been selected for the Australian Flame athletics team competing at the 2011 IAAF Athletics World Championships in South Korea.

Leading the NSWIS 12 will be reigning discus world champion Dani Samuels. Samuels won gold in the women’s discus at the 2009 world championships, becoming the youngest athlete to hold such a crown. Solid results this year, including medals at the prestigious Diamond League, have Samuels poised to contend once again.

Reigning indoor long jump world champion Fabrice Lapierre is in the squad, looking to go one better than his indoor title with a strong performance in Daegu; Ben Lawrence will compete in the gruelling men’s 10000m and 5000m distance events; Eloise Wellings takes on the women’s 10000m; Jeff Hunt carries Australia’s hopes in the men’s marathon and young gun Ryan Gregson will line up in the men’s 1500m.

The NSWIS has strong representation in all relay events; Liam Gander and Isaac Ntiamoah join the Australian team for the men’s 4x100m relay, with Laura Whaler joining the Australian team for the women’s 4x100m relay. Youngster Steven Solomon and seasoned veteran John Steffensen take their places in the men’s 4x400m relay team, while in the women’s 4x400m relay the NSWIS is represented by Anneliese Rubie.

The 2011 IAAF Athletics World Championships take place in Daegu, South Korea from 27 August-4 September 2011.

No Comments

Comments are closed here.