Four NSWIS divers named in Aussie World Cup squad

Posted on February 10, 2020 by

Four divers from the NSW Institute of Sport have been named in the Australian Diving World Cup Team, following the conclusion of the selection trials at Sydney Olympic Park Aquatic Centre on Sunday.

Melissa Wu, Esther Qin, Declan Stacey and Kurtis Matthews will represent Australia at the FINA World Cup to be held in Tokyo, Japan, in April. Brittany O’Brien has also been named in reserve.

Following four days of competition NSWIS athletes finished with two gold, two silver and two bronze medals, including gold for Melissa Wu in the women’s 10m platform.

Esther Qin lead from start to finish in the women’s 3m springboard to take out the gold with 999.35 over three rounds, with a high of 345.60 during the semi final. Qin’s sights are now firmly focused on building on her sixth place during last year’s FINA World Championships.

Declan Stacey and Dominic Bedggood picked up from where they left off in 2019, dominating the men’s 10m synchro competition,  locking in their spot at the World Cup where they will aim to secure Australia’s place in the Tokyo Olympic Games.

Brittany O’Brien performed solidly over three rounds to finish second overall in the women’s 10m platform event with a combined score of 901.55, placing her as an injury reserve behind Melissa Wu and Laura Hingston for the FINA World Cup in April. O’Brien will now head to the FINA Grand Prix in Madrid, Spain as preparations for June’s Olympic selection trials continue.

Kurtis Matthews and Kevin Chavez provided a captivating duel in the men’s 3m springboard final to secure second and third overall, behind winner Li Shixin. Matthews’ last dive catapulted him into the silver medal position following a remarkable points grab of 91.20 off the back of a front four and a half (109c) dive which left the stadium stunned. Only six points separated Matthews and Chavez over three rounds, 18 dives and two days of competition. Chavez will now head to the FINA Grand Prix in Madrid, Spain to continue his preparation for June’s Olympic selection trials.

Sam Fricker had a strong performance in the men’s 10m platform event finishing in third place with a score of 1213.85 over three rounds, highlighted by 409.80 in the final. Fricker will also head to the FINA Grand Prix in Madrid.

Sofia Knight had a breakout competition, scoring 826.60 to secure sixth overall in the women’s 10m platform and progressing to Diving Australia’s National Squad status for 2020, which will make Sofia eligible for Olympic selection in June.


Australian Diving World Cup Team

Event Athlete Athlete  
Women’s 3m Springboard Esther Qin Maddi Keeney
Women’s 10m Platform Melissa Wu Laura Hingston  
Women’s 3m Synchro Maddi Keeney Annabelle Smith
Women’s 10m Synchro Laura Hingston Nikita Hains
Men’s 3m Springboard Li Shixin Kurtis Matthews  
Men’s 10m Platform Dominic Bedggood Cassiel Russeauz  
Men’s 3m Synchro Li Shixin Matt Carter
Men’s 10m Synchro Declan Stacey Dominic Bedggood


No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.