Hockey teams win in New Zealand

Posted on October 26, 2015 by

The Australian men’s and women’s hockey teams triumphed at the Oceania Cup over the weekend as both teams defeated New Zealand to claim their respective titles.

The men’s team, featuring NSWIS athletes Matt Dawson, Blake Govers, Tom Craig and Flynn Ogilvie won 3-1 while the women’s team, featuring NSWIS athletes Mariah Williams, Emily Smith and Georgina Morgan won 2-1 following a tense penalty shootout.

Both the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos have qualified for the 2016 Olympic Games following their respective gold and bronze medals at the 2015 FIH World League Semi Final earlier this year.

No Comments

Comments are closed here.