The 47th Premier of NSW, the Hon Chris Minns, MP has attended the NSW Institute of Sport’s (NSWIS) World’s Best event at NSW Parliament House. Almost 80 people attended the celebration to recognise the outstanding achievements of NSWIS athletes and the specialist staff who have supported them on their high performance journey.

“I am incredibly proud of our athletes’ success over the last 12 months and the support provided to them by our NSWIS experts,” Premier Minns said.

“Since opening its doors in 1996, the state Institute has assisted its athletes to win a total of 98 Summer Olympic medals. In the same period New Zealand has won 75 Olympic medals, Denmark 62, Sweden 60, Croatia 38, and Ireland, 20.

“NSWIS athletes Jessica Fox, Tim Hodge, Eleanor Patterson and Madison de Rozario are all household names and continue to inspire our nation to participate in sport.

NSWIS Board Member and Olympian Matt Shirvington graced the audience as Master of Ceremonies and assisted the Premier to present the athletes with a memento from the Government before gifting the Premier with a piece of NSWIS history – a NSWIS t-shirt signed by the likes of Jessica Fox (canoe slalom), Rohan Browning (athletics – 100m), Brandon Starc (athletics – high jump), Melissa Wu (diving) and Tilly Kearns (water polo).

“We have an ambitious plan to emulate and even surpass the success of the Sydney 2000 Olympic Games and to double the number of Para athletes we support by 2032 so we can play our part in Paralympics Australia’s Strategy for the Paralympic Games,” NSWIS CEO Professor Kevin Thompson said.

“Part of that plan is the Pursu32+ regional talent pathway, which is building our capacity to identify and develop aspiring regional athletes in partnership with the regional academies of sport and state sports organisations.”

“As we know so many great athletes have come from regional NSW including Kurt Fearnley, Emma McKeon and Brent Livermore.

“We are grateful for the ongoing support from the NSW Government.”

Ten time individual canoe slalom world champion Jessica Fox, Para canoe sprint world champion Dylan Littlehales and cycling junior world champion Nicole Duncan shared an insight into their high performance journey and acknowledged the incredible support provided to them by NSWIS.

The Premier presented the athletes with an individual memento of their podium performance before NSWIS Chair Gary Flowers presented Premier Minns with an item of NSWIS memorabilia.

Frances Cordaro, NSWIS

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.