The AusCycling National Selection Panel has today announced the 17 athletes that will wear the green and gold of the ARA Australian Cycling Team at the 2024 UCI BMX Racing World Championships.

This year’s UCI BMX Racing World Championships will take place from 12-18 May in Rock Hill, USA, and is the final competition in which athletes can obtain points for Olympic qualification.

The Australian team is headlined by UCI BMX Racing World Cup overall champion and NSW Institute of Sport athlete Saya Sakakibara and Brisbane round winner Izaac Kennedy.

Oceania champion Joshua Mclean will again have the opportunity to represent Australia on the world stage, alongside triple Olympian and 14-time world championship competitor Lauren Reynolds, who finished sixth last year in Glasgow.

These established stars will be complemented by an exciting group of emerging talents who will carry Australian hopes beyond Rock Hill and into the future.

Fresh from a Junior silver medal in Glasgow, 18-year-old Sienna Pal has elected to ride up in the Elite class this year, and has already made the final of a UCI World Cup round in Brisbane. Based on these performances and future potential, the NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) athlete has been selected for an Elite-level debut at these World Championships.

Similarly, 21-year-old Jack Davis is eligible to compete in the under-23 category, but the NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) BMX rider has nominated for the Elite classification in 2024. Strong performances over the last 12 months, including victory in the 2023 AusCycling BMX Racing Superclass championship has led to selection for Rock Hill.

Pal and Davis are part of a core group of young talents – all with World Cup, national, and continental success – who have been selected to compete in the Under 23 and Junior categories at Rock Hill, including Teya Rufus, Jesse Asmus, Bella May and Oli Moran, among others.

The team was selected according to the AusCycling selection policy.

For more information about the event, visit the 2024 UCI BMX Racing World Championship competition hub.

Elite Men

  • Izaac Kennedy (Nerang BMX)
  • Jack Davis (Tamworth BMX)
  • Joshua Mclean (Knox BMX)

Elite Women

  • Saya Sakakibara (Southlake-Illawarra BMX)
  • Lauren Reynolds (Bunbury BMX)
  • Sienna Pal (Terrigal BMX)

U23 Men

  • Oliver Moran (Manning Valley BMX)
  • Jordan Callum (Rockingham BMX)
  • Joel Marsh (Happy Valley BMX)
  • Jesse Asmus (Nerang BMX)

U23 Women

  • Isabell May (Frankston BMX)

Junior Men

  • Joshua Jolly (Ballarat-Sebastopol CC)
  • Noah Elton (San Remo BMX)
  • Preston Murray (Happy Valley BMX)
  • Bailey Seckold (Ashmore BMX)

Junior Women

  • Teya Rufus (Maryborough BMX)
  • Charlotte Guy (Ashmore BMX)

Article courtesy of AusCycling

Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.