NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) winter athletes, coaches, support staff and high performance sport administrators descended on Jindabyne for the annual NSWIS Winter Induction ceremony at the Sport and Recreation Centre, to celebrate the past 12 months of success and welcome the Institute’s newest scholarship holders. 

“The performance of our winter athletes on the world stage is nothing short of extraordinary and it highlights the outstanding support NSWIS provides our athletes on their journey to become world’s best,” NSW Minister for Sport, Steve Kamper said.

“I congratulate all the athletes and their support staff on their results as well as their ongoing determination to represent our state at the highest level.” 

Forty athletes, including Olympians, Paralympians and Crystal Globe champions, from moguls, snowboard cross, park and pipe attended the prestigious event which welcomes returning scholarship holders as well as new scholarship athletes to high performance.   

Among the NSWIS scholarship holders were 2022 Olympic Champion Jakara Anthony and 2023 Para World Champion Ben Tudhope and world championship medallists Valentino Guseli, Josie Baff and Matt Graham as well as 6 new athletes to the program.   

“So many records were won by NSWIS athletes this season including a record six world championship medals and a record 11 top 10 world championship finishes,” NSWIS Winter Sports Manager Peter Topalovic said.

“Among them were first time world championships medals for Valentino Guseli (snowboard park and pipe) and Josie Baff (snowboard cross), Australia’s first ever world championship medal in snowboard big air by Tess Coady (park and pipe) and two world championships silver medals for Matt Graham in single & dual moguls.”  

Present to recognise and welcome the athletes were NSWIS CEO Professor Kevin Thompson, Snow Australia CEO Michael Kennedy and strategic partners from Perisher, Thredbo, and Jindabyne Sport & Recreation Centre.    

“The NSWIS Winter Sports Induction ceremony is a unique and rare opportunity where all our winter athletes are together under the one roof,” NSWIS Chief Executive Officer, Kevin Thompson said.  

“It’s a time to celebrate the success of our programs, the athletes and staff. It’s a time to foster rich cultural traditions and a time to recognise our stakeholders and strategic partners.” 

“It’s fantastic to see so many new Snow Australia athletes across moguls, snowboard cross, park & pipe and para-alpine and snowboard joining the established cohort, as NSWIS scholarship recipients for the upcoming season,” Snow Australia CEO Michael Kennedy said. 

“There has been a great deal of work by our team over the past few years to prepare athletes for this moment via the Emerging Talent Program (ETP) and we wish them well as they begin their journey as NSWIS athletes.     

“With the likes of Olympic and Paralympic medallists Jakara Anthony, Matt Graham, Tess Coady and Ben Tudhope excelling in the program, it shows the snow sports pathway is producing results, and allowing us to develop present and future talents across all disciplines.  

Frances Cordaro, NSWIS



Please enable JavaScript in your browser to complete this form.