NSWIS rowers set for Olympic & Paralympic qualifiers

Posted on March 9, 2020 by

21 athletes from the NSW Institute of Sport have been named by Rowing Australia in the squads and crews set to compete at the 2020 World Rowing Cups 2 and 3 as well as the final Olympic and Paralympic qualification regattas later this year.

Rowing Australia Performance Director, Bernard Savage was on hand for the announcement.

“Today we are pleased to be able announce some of our squads and crews for the upcoming international events in the lead up to the Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Those athletes who will compete for Australia at the Olympics & Paralympics won’t be revealed until closer to the Games.

“We have certainly identified athletes for each boat class that Australia has qualified or hopes to qualify for Tokyo, however we wish to refine our performances in the lead up to these World Rowing events before announcing these crews publicly.”

The strength of rowing in New South Wales is evident by the large contingent of rowers named in the national squad.

  • Georgie Gotch (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Women’s Sweep Squad]
  • Genevieve Horton (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Women’s Sweep Squad]
  • Georgie Rowe (UTS/NTC-NSWIS) [Women’s Sweep Squad]
  • Leah Saunders (Sydney/NTC-NSWIS) [Women’s Sweep Squad]
  • Fiona Ewing (Sydney Uni/NSWIS) [Women’s Sculling Squad]
  • Rowena Meredith (Sydney Uni/NSWIS) [Women’s Sculling Squad]
  • Sarah Pound (UTS/NTC-NSWIS) [Lightweight Women’s Double Scull]
  • Rob Black (Mosman/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Sam Hardy (Sydney/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Jack Hargreaves (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Nick Lavery (UTS/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Angus Moore (Sydey/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Jack O’Brien (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Alex Purnell (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Nick Purnell (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • Spencer Turrin (Sydney/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sweep Squad]
  • David Bartholot (Sydney Uni/NSWIS) [Men’s Sculling Squad]
  • Cameron Girdlestone (Sydney Uni/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sculling Squad]
  • Hamish Playfair (UTS/NTC-NSWIS) [Men’s Sculling Squad]
  • Sean Murphy (Mosman/NSWIS) [Men’s Lightweight Double Scull]
  • Erik Horrie (Sydney/NSWIS) [Men’s PR1 Single Scull]

World Rowing Cup 2 is due to be held in Varese, Italy from 1 to 3 May, while the 2020 International Para-Rowing Regatta and the Final Paralympic Qualification Regatta are both due to be held in Gavirate, Italy from 8 to 10 May.

Lucerne in Switzerland is the venue for both the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta, scheduled for 17 to 19 May, and World Rowing Cup 3 which is due to take place from 22 to 24 May.

Australia has already qualified eight boats for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games and will now also look to qualify both the Lightweight Men’s and Women’s Double Sculls at the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta to be held in Lucerne, Switzerland. Sean Murphy and Hamish Parry will team up in the Lightweight Men’s Double Scull, while Georgia Nesbitt and Sarah Pound will race the female equivalent.

Rowing Australia will also select, from the male and female sculling squads, a Men’s Double Scull and Women’s Quadruple Scull to contest the Final Olympic Qualification Regatta.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.